Lose No Weight and Lots of Money with Acai Berries

15 08 2009

acaiforcemax 2For those you who have a Facebook account, you may have noticed the advertisements that regularly pop up on the right side of the screen. Now I understand that Facebook is a business and that an important way of making money for the company is through advertising. However some of the ads that regularly feature are not just lame, but have the elements of a scam.

Specifically there are those ads that entice you in with the prospect of turning that keg into a six pack with minimal effort and a short timeframe. Such ads I have encountered have included are Dave’s Personal Blog and Getting Your Six Pack. While at a glance they appear to be different from each other, there are a large number of similarities between the two sites including in the layout and language used. In particular the endorsements received from members of the public are identical – right down the usernames and dates that the comments were posted. On the face of it looks like these guys who run these sites have been sucked into a multi-level marketing scam, until you click any one of the links and they lead to one website – acaiforcemax.com. I suspect that these websites are actually sockpuppets for acaiforcemax.com.

The websites provide the typical anecdote of the Joe Bloggs who obtains an incredible physique through the consumption of Acai berry fruit juice – the most recent fad in pseudo-nutritional supplements. There is no evidence for its efficacy as assisting with weight loss – nor for the range of other claims made for it such as cleansing colons (which is a scam in itself) and enhancing ones sexual prowess. Check out the Skeptic Doc’s blog entry on acai berries and what is interesting is that there is a range of other exotic items such as blueberry juice, grape juice, and red wine that have more anti-oxidants than acai juice.

However, if a person wants to part with their hard earned money for another useless supplement then go ahead – knock yourself out. What is more concerning is the deceptive techniques that many of these online companies use to trick people into subscribing for expensive products – and what you will find is that by signing up to one of the free trials of acai berries will mean that you will lose a lot more than a few kilos.

Lets take acaiforcemax.com, a website where whoever has registered the domain has gone to some lengths to protect themselves from identification. The free trial is aggressively pushed in the website and hey – if they are giving it away is there any harm in trying? As they make it clear that there are only limited supplies one better quickly work their way through the process to get their free trial. The first step is to take their test to see if you qualify. I decided to misrepresent myself as a 137cm tall, 72 year old Munchkin whose goal was to move from being 115kg to 160kg and strangely enough I qualified for a free trial!

acaiforcemax 7You then need to provide them with a range of personal information including an e-mail address (bring on the acai berry spam) and the only cost involved is a US$4.95 postage fee for the free acai berries and guess what? You also are entitled to become a member of their Elite Customer Club.

The membership of this club means that you are also billed US$79.95 for the acai berry supply (that you have not asked for) and you also obtain access to their World Club Fitness and Weight Loss Resources for a meagre US$6.95 and US$8.95 per month. So in total this “free trial” will set you back US$100.80 (NZ$148) per month. You only need to Google the terms ‘acai berry scam’ to see the number of people who have fallen for this scam and find themselves jumping through numerous hoops to get the payments stopped.

My advice is that if something is marketed as free on the Internet it will be too good to be true.

Actions

Information

27 responses

15 08 2009
martin

I’ve actually tried fresh acai berries in Brazil where they are very common . They were pretty good, but we had to add about half a kilo of sugar to them to take the edge off the sourness, which I think might be a bit of a problem when using them for weight loss.

16 08 2009
Christiaan

How much did they cost? I am sure that they would be considerably cheaper than the incredibly expensive juice these websites push.

17 08 2009
martin

Definitely – plenty of places sell acai juice for a couple of bucks a throw IIRC. I think it’s a bit more expensive than your standard guanabana or passionfruit because it’s from a palm tree that grows in the Amazon but still not that pricey.

20 08 2009
Christiaan

On the 17th of August This article received a pingback from Dave’s Personal Blog, one of the two Acai berry blogs linked to in this article and strangely enough it now it has disappeared just says “This page does not exist” hmmm, does this sound like the behaviour of a ethical company?

Found it again and relinked, they just changed the url slightly.

22 08 2009
thankful

Thanks for this post & your plug to the Skeptic Doc

I almost divulged my credit card info to acaiforcemax.com but then I realized how it’d activate like three different trials to three different companies… and I’m like “Are you kidding me?!?!?!”

I put in a call to what I thought was the main company… after all, “remember, there’s no obligation – you can cancel your membership at any time by calling 888-948-5508” so that lead me to believe someone would be available to answer my question “Uh, am I really signing up to all these automatic trials or am I just getting one month’s worth of the product to try out for $4.95”? No such luck, they were conveniently closed (@ 8pm PST when I called).

Red flag, time to Google.

Any how… thanks again for this post.

9 09 2009
dwerdodosycle

Oh, so gald to see your views about acai berry,I’m also looking for acai supplements. I found a lots of websites online.
and i have read some other idea about :acai berry,extreme acai berry,acai berry product,acai berry supplement,
acai pills,extreme acai berry,acai berry diet.
There are also some review sites about acai berry diet, are they true or not?
Anyway, I’ll try acai soon.

19 09 2009
Hani

I dont care about money i just want to loose my weight

19 09 2009
Christiaan

I have let through just a couple of a the spam posts that has been directed towards this article, further evidence of the type of unethical people who are behind such scams.

9 12 2009
Dave

You will find that almost all of the acai berry supplement sites are run bby the same company if you dig deep enough. One of the few that sells acai berry supplements in a 100% pure capsule format without any of the scams can be found at the following address (webmaster please remove or allow upon your own inspection):

http://www.nature-force.com/acai/

No free samples, but their pricing is about half what the others would have stolen from you monthly, but they don’t force any kind of recurring charges on you.

12 12 2009
Christiaan

Even as a straight supplement the benefits of the Acai berry are over stated. In fact, the consumption of supplements is not required unless you have a specific deficiency that is identified by your doctor that needs to be addressed by specific vitamine supplements. So while it is good to see that your company is not trying to scam people, from the research I have done there is no benefit in purchasing and using acai berry supplements.

14 12 2009
brandy

Aca really work it just a matter of time. You can try it without wasting money.

14 06 2010
Ilene Soro

Great write up, I will save this post in my Propeller account. Have a good day.

16 06 2010
wonderfulflowergarden.com

Acai Fruit confirmed the presence of various health benefits, and therefore very quickly obtained. Although most people are still learning about the benefits of Acai Berry. Central America and South America has long realized the benefits of acai. Acai Berry is a fruit that produces most of the fans of health food because of its high mineral and vitamin content in essential fatty acids, including a number of omega-3 fatty acids, vitamin B and anthocyanins.

22 06 2010
Tony Sauer

When people are troubled they might “eat for comfort”, using previous experiences to find relief temporarily. The issue is that the relief is only short term, it is not lasting. A problem which is not treated properly will re-occur leading to still more overeating. You can use hypnotherapy weight loss to tackle all problems head on.

14 09 2012
Stacy Cooper

Thanks for the great info. I have also done a lot of research on products like this and posted it on my site. You might want to see what I’ve found. Crazy!

11 12 2012
banc blonde

Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written
article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

24 12 2012
acai berry risk free

No matter if some one searches for his necessary thing, therefore he/she wants to be available that in detail,
so that thing is maintained over here.

3 01 2013
Connie

Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article.
I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly return.

7 02 2013
dreambox 7025

I think this is among the most significant information for me.

And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark on some general things, The website style is ideal, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

9 03 2013
Bill

Hello, I would like to subscribe for this blog to take hottest updates, so where can i do it please help.

3 05 2013
Let's Get Immunized Against Bullshit

[…] to support their case and which on the surface seem likely to be legitimate.  A cursory look at Acai Berries for example, which were presented as the biggest and best ‘super-food’ on the planet, shows us […]

4 06 2013
coupons

I blog often and I truly thank you for your information. This article has really peaked my interest. I will book mark your site and keep checking for new information about once per week. I subscribed to your RSS feed too.

3 08 2013
Wilson

This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks!

14 05 2014
berry diet review

berry diet review

Lose No Weight and Lots of Money with Acai Berries | Evidence Based Thought

23 08 2014
advanced pure garcinia review

This site was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I have found something that helped me.
Thanks a lot!

2 09 2015
Marketing Real People Real Choices Test Bank

May I simply just say what a relief to find someone who truly understands
what they are talking about on the net. You actually know how to bring a problem to light and make it important.
More and moire eople need to check this out and understand this
side of the story. I was surprised you are not more popular given that you
certainly habe the gift.

18 01 2016
video.Prosinger.org

Useful info. Fortunate me I found your website accidentally,
and I am surprised why this coincidence didn’t
came about in advance! I bookmarked it.

Leave a Reply

